Weight Loss Journey: Second Wind

I’ve been listening to Maren Morris a lot lately and her song “Second Wind” really feels like it is my song right now. The chorus of the song really speaks to me:

 “You can’t forget about me
While you weren’t lookin’ I was gettin’ even higher
Say what you want about me
Your words are gasoline on my fire
You can hate me, underestimate me
Do what you do cause what you do don’t phase me
Just when you think I’m at the end
Any second I’ma catch my second wind”

I’ve had such an inspirational week, changing my life, working toward becoming healthier and I feel so refreshed and renewed. I have caught my second wind, and I will achieve this goal. I am achieving this goal.

I had my first weigh-in on Wednesday at work for the Biggest Loser competition. I was so excited because I knew I’d done so well this week, worked hard, been conscious about my decisions and I knew it would pay off. I also know from experience that the weight falls off me right away because I’m so overweight and I knew it would be a good week, as long as I stayed on track, and I did.

So, the results from the weigh-in…

I went from 347.0 lbs last Wednesday, Jan. 4th, to 337.8 lbs on Jan. 11th! I lost 9.2 lbs in one week. I’m so ecstatic! I don’t anticipate next week being as big of a loss, but if I can continue to work hard, I’m hoping to be above 5 lbs for the next week.

What did I do to lose nearly 10 lbs in one week? This week, I ate healthy food including a couple Smart Ones frozen meals (when I was too busy to cook), lots of fresh healthy vegetables. When I was hungry, I snacked. I snacked on some chips and salsa, but I tried not to eat too many chips. I drank so much water. So. Much. Water. I noticed that after I did a little work out, and drank plenty of water, I wasn’t even hungry. I am typically “bored hungry” all day long, and when I was active and drinking lots of water, I wasn’t even craving food. I just felt comfortable and full. I was almost shocked, honestly.

I was active more, but not killing myself. I know from my previous experiences that I don’t want to over-do myself too soon, or I’ll quit and never stay on this path. So, I’ve been working out about every other day. I don’t really want to buy a gym membership at the moment, and I have access to a million work out routines and ideas through the wonderful world of youtube.com. So, I’ve been using this youtube.com workout this last week: FIT | Plus Size/Beginner Workout – Follow Along

Image result for sarah fit youtube plus size workout

The workout I’ve been focusing on includes planking for 30 seconds, inclined push-ups, and step-ups. The workout is very simple, but oh-so effective. I’m honestly not able to plan for the whole 30 seconds, but with a brief couple second break in the middle, I’m kind of doing it. I noticed after doing it for the 3rd time, I did get better! The youtuber, Sarah Fit, who created the video made it just for beginners or overweight people getting into working out. She’s kind, encouraging, and does the workout with you in real-time, which I appreciate. I’d recommend you give the video a try if you’re looking for a beginning workout that is quick and simple, but effective!

After my first week, I’m already feeling better about myself emotionally and physically. My clothes fit a little more comfortably and seem to look a little better. I have SUCH  long ways to go, but I’m enjoying this ride rather than making it unbearable. I’m feeling so refreshed, inspired, and loving myself. I’m also a part of a support group on facebook, which I mentioned in my last weight loss journey post, and they’ve been such a big part of how I’m mentally processing this journey.

My first goal for weight loss is to get out of the 300’s. I honestly can’t believe I even got to this point, but all I can do is change it. Once I get below 300, I’ll have lost 13% of my body weight. What a happy day that will be! But mostly, it will be motivation to continue working hard to get to the below 200 number. But, before I overwhelm myself, I’ll focus on my next goal in mind.

My mom has said in times when the task just seems too overwhelming, “how do you eat an elephant?” – the answer – “one bite at a time.”

Take it small. Take it slow. Every pound matters.

YAY FOR SMALL VICTORIES! 9.2 lbs down. Thank you for the support!

Leave a comment